**Council** (Annual Meeting) 18 May 2010



## 10 May 2010

# To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting of the Eastbourne Borough Council to be held at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, on Tuesday 18 May 2010 at 6.00pm to transact the following business:

# Agenda

- **1. Michael Tunwell and Derek Townsend.** The meeting will be invited to give a minute silence in memory of Michael Tunwell, former Mayor and Councillor, and Derek Townsend, former Councillor.
- 2. Election of Mayor.
- **3.** Minutes of the special meeting held on 29 March 2010 (page 273) (previously circulated).
- 4. Notification of apologies for absence.
- 5. Appointment of Deputy Mayor.
- 6. Investiture of Mayor's Consort.
- 7. Mayor's Chaplain Notification of appointment.
- 8. Vote of thanks to outgoing Mayor and Mayoress.
- **9. Election of Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Cabinet.** To receive nominations and vote thereon.

(N.B. At the annual meeting after the May 2011 council elections the Leader will be appointed to a 4-year term of office. A report on the constitutional changes required under provisions of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 will be made to Council in due course.)

**10. Executive arrangements.** Leader of the Council to report:

(a) The names of those Councillors to serve on the Cabinet and the Councillor appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council (and Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet) and to note the respective areas of responsibility for each member of the Cabinet. (b) That the terms of reference and constitution of the Cabinet be as set out in the Council's Constitution.

(c) That the delegation of executive functions to officers will continue to be as set out in the Scheme of Delegation to Officers, noting that relevant lead Cabinet members are to be consulted by officers when exercising their delegated powers where required to do so.

(d) That delegations to individual Cabinet members in respect of executive functions have not been made at this time.

#### 11. Establishment of Council committees, appointment of chairmen, deputy chairmen and members to serve on Council committees and appointment of chairman and non-executive directors on boards.

(1) To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats, receive nominations and vote thereon (with the exception of those bodies specified in recommendation (2) below).

(2) To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats on advisory bodies, receive nominations and vote thereon. (Note, for this to be approved it is a requirement that no votes against are cast against.)

(3) To re-appoint the existing independent members of the Standards Committee, Mr John Vesely (as Chairman), Mr Trevor Elliott and Mr Jaye Libeccio and for the 2010/11 Council year.

(4) To confirm the continuation of the following bodies with terms of reference as set out in the Council's Constitution that have a fixed membership or to which members are appointed by the Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive or relevant Head of Service as the need arises:

Equality Steering Group Council Panels Recruitment Panels Task Groups Project Boards Independent Remuneration Panel

(a) Political balance and allocation of seats. Report of Local Democracy Manager - Attachment 11a.

#### (b) Nominations from Group Leaders - Attachment 11b.

#### 12. Programme of meetings for 2010/11 – Attachment 12.

The calendar was last approved by Council on 18 November 2009. It is subject to the following changes: Cabinet, 14 July 2010 (instead of 7 July), Additional Planning Committee on 20 May 2010 - to deal with the King's Drive planning application); and Conservation Area Advisory Group on 25 May 2010 (instead of 20 May).

### **13.** Delegation of non-executive functions.

(a) Council to approve the delegation of non-executive functions, including terms of reference, to Committees, Sub-Committees, other Council bodies as set out in the relevant sections of the Council's Constitution.

(b) Council to approve the delegation of non-executive functions to Officers as set out in the Scheme of Delegation to Officers.

**14.** Appointments to outside and other bodies. To receive nominations from Group Leaders and vote thereon - Attachment 14.

**Robert Cottrill** Chief Executive

(der\P:\council\10.05.18 ann\agenda

Please note that the Annual Meeting will be followed by an Ordinary Meeting of the Council. It is proposed that there will be an approximate 30 minute break between the two meetings. In addition, during this interval, the newly elected Mayor and members of the Council will assemble on the Town Hall steps for their photograph to be taken.